Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

2017 Sawtelle Financial Teaching Innovation Grants

UTSA’s Faculty Center and the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars (ADTS) are pleased to announce the 2017 Sawtelle Financial Teaching Innovation Grants program.

Two $3,000 teaching grants will be awarded to faculty who are developing or implementing innovative, creative, and effective approaches to undergraduate teaching, including new methodologies, best-practices, information literacy, or impactful technologies.

Proposals that support high-risk courses (high D/F/W) and/or core courses are especially encouraged.

Grant Specifics

Grant funds can be used to support undergraduate research, supplies, equipment, and travel expenses to relevant education conferences.

Grantees will be expected to provide a report that includes 1) a final syllabus; 2) assessment, including student evaluations of the new approach; 3) analysis and future plans based on the findings. Grantees may be asked to present their results at a meeting of the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars, in a workshop to interested faculty, and/or in Faculty Center news articles.

Evaluation Criteria

The Committee will use the following Evaluation Criteria:

  • • Promise and benefits of innovation or improvement
  • • Potential impact of the change
  • • Plan for dissemination
  • • Evaluation plan

  • Proposal Submission

    Proposals should be no more than two pages and should outline the following:

  • • Explanation of the innovation or improvement
  • • Anticipated impact
  • • Plan to evaluate success
  • • Plan to disseminate results

  • The following addendum should be attached:

  • • Course outline or proposed syllabus
  • • Budget w/justification
  • • List of courses taught in last 2 years with enrollments

  • Complete application materials are due to the ADTS by 5 p.m. on March 27, 2017. Tenure, tenure-track and non-tenure track faculty are eligible. Non tenure-track faculty are strongly encouraged to apply. Members of the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars are ineligible.

    Questions and applications may be emailed to Mary Dixson. Awards will be announced at the end of April. Funds will be available September 1 and must be expended before May 1, 2018, with the full report due at that time.