Latest campus and coronavirus information Roadrunner Return Fall 2020
Academic Affairs

Academic Strategic Communications

Academic Strategic Communications provides communications and marketing support and oversight across Academic Affairs in concert with the university’s strategic plan and in alignment with the UTSA brand. The team works closely with faculty, administrators, and staff across the university to enhance UTSA’s academic reputation.

Who We Serve

In addition to providing support to the Provost, we provide comprehensive communications support to the following areas within Academic Affairs: 

  • Academic Innovation
  • Career-Engaged Learning
  • Continuous Improvement & Accreditation
  • Faculty Success
  • Global Initiatives
  • Graduate School
  • Honors College
  • Institutional Research
  • Strategic Educational Partnerships
  • Student Affairs
  • Student Success
  • University College
  • Undergraduate Studies

That said, our goal is to serve as a resource and collaborative partner with all areas that advance UTSA’s academic mission by offering guidance, tools, training and expertise in the areas of strategic messaging and digital marketing.

How We Can Help

Our team specializes in writing and content development, design, web development and support, photography, and video production.

Need our help?

In addition, our team manages the university-wide digital signage program and accepts content submissions from across the university for consideration.

>> Read the guidelines and submit a request here

Who We Are

Rebecca Luther

Director of Academic Strategic Communications

210-458-6244
Rebecca.Luther@utsa.edu

John David Garza

Assistant Director of Academic Web Development

210-458-6296
john.garza@utsa.edu

Elda Barajas

Marketing Coordinator

210-458-6409
Elda.Barajas@utsa.edu

Pamela Dyer

Web Developer


Pamela.Dyer@utsa.edu

Glynda Steele

Communications and Customer Relations Rep

210-458-7242
Glynda.Steele@utsa.edu

Kristian Rodriguez Villanueva

KC Gonzalez

Senior Assoc. Director of Academic Strategic Communications

210-458-2712
KC.Gonzalez@utsa.edu

Matthew Boerger

Senior Communications Specialist

210-458-5125
Matthew.Boerger@utsa.edu

Kelly Holguin

Multimedia Editor II


Kelly.Holguin@utsa.edu

Christopher Cortez

Shawin Kiero

Student Assistant
Shawin.Kiero@utsa.edu