Academic Affairs

Academic Strategic Communications

Academic Strategic Communications provides communications and marketing support and oversight across Academic Affairs in concert with the university’s strategic plan and in alignment with the UTSA brand. The team works closely with faculty, administrators, and staff across the university to enhance UTSA’s academic reputation.

Who We Serve

In addition to providing support to the Provost, we provide comprehensive communications support to the following areas within Academic Affairs: 

  • Academic Innovation
  • Academic Success
  • Global Initiatives
  • Graduate School
  • Honors College
  • Student Success
  • University College
  • University Planning

That said, our goal is to serve as a resource and collaborative partner with all areas that advance UTSA’s academic mission by offering guidance, tools, training and expertise in the areas of strategic messaging and digital marketing.

How We Can Help

Our team specializes in writing and content development, design, web development and support, photography, and video production.

Need our help?


Submit a Work Request

In addition, our team manages the university-wide digital signage program and accepts content submissions from across the university for consideration.

>> Read the guidelines and submit a request here

Who We Are

Rebecca Luther

Director of Academic Communications

210-458-6244
Rebecca.Luther@utsa.edu

John David Garza

Assistant Director of Academic Web Development

210-458-6296
john.garza@utsa.edu

Elda Barajas

Marketing Coordinator

210-458-6409
Elda.Barajas@utsa.edu

Judy Cadena

Glynda Steele

Communications and Customer Relations Rep

210-458-7242
Glynda.Steele@utsa.edu

KC Gonzalez

Associate Director of Academic Communications

210-458-2712
KC.Gonzalez@utsa.edu

Sean Burns

Senior Associate Director of Digital Marketing

210-458-8220
Sean.Burns@utsa.edu

Matthew Boerger

Senior Communications Specialist

210-458-5125
Matthew.Boerger@utsa.edu

Christopher Cortez

Darien Chandler

Student Assistant
Darien.Chandler@utsa.edu