Roadmap: Latest Campus & Coronavirus Info | Scheduled System Maintenance Dec 2-10
Academic Affairs

Provost's Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Council

Mission Statement

The UTSA Provost's Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Council (DIAC) is committed to advancing our institution as an exemplar of diversity with inclusionary practices at all levels and aspects of university life.


The Provost's DIAC was created in early 2017 to inform and advise the provost on issues pertaining to diversity and inclusiveness at UTSA and to help formulate best practices and policies to encourage and support all types of diversity on our campuses. Each academic college also formed its own DIAC to address issues related to diversity and inclusiveness at the college level.

Student Survey Results

At request of the President, a subcommittee of the Diversity and Inclusion Council convened with representatives from Student Affairs and Student Government to select and administer a student survey to evaluate the current campus climate with respect to diversity and inclusion. The results of that survey are now available.

Diversity Survey Results


Diversity Climate Survey

In November 2017, the council administered a campus climate survey on diversity to all UTSA faculty and staff.

The results of this survey are available as a full report and executive summary, in addition to the dashboard tool below. A similar survey tool was administered to UTSA students this spring; results are pending.

View the dashboard in full-screen mode

UTSA Diversity Statement

President Eighmy tasked the council with drafting a new institutional statement affirming UTSA's commitment to diversity and inclusion to display alongside our institutional mission, vision and core values. This draft will be shared broadly for campus input.

Faculty Recruitment

A sub-committee of the council is focused on developing recommendations on strengthening UTSA's faculty recruitment process so that we are able to recruit exceptional faculty that represent the multicultural demographic of our students.


Jesse T. Zapata, Senior Vice Provost, Academic and Faculty Support (Co-Chair)
Angelica Barrera, Executive Director, Advising Administration
Saadet Beeson, Associate Professor, Department of Architecture
JoAnn Browning, Dean, College of Engineering
Jinny Case, Senior Institutional Research Analyst, Institutional Research
Pepe Chang, Associate Professor, Department of Management
Carolyn L. Ellis, Assistant Dean for Organizational Effectiveness and Strategy, Libraries
Roger Enriquez, Associate Professor, Department of Criminal Justice and Director, Policy Studies Center
Lisa Firmin, Associate Provost, Veteran and Military Affairs
Rhonda Gonzales, Professor, Department of History and Associate Vice Provost, Strategic Initiatives
Norma Guerra, Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership
Brian Kelley, Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Vanessa Kenon, Assistant Vice Provost, Information Technology
Stella Lopez, Associate Professor, Department of Psychology
Ambika Mathur, Vice Provost and Dean, Graduate School
Kelly Nash, Associate Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy
John Phillip Santos, Distinguished Senior Lecturer, Honors College
Can Saygin, Interim Senior Vice Provost, Institutional Intelligence
Ashley Schneider, Graduate Assistant, Department of Psychology
Steve Wilkerson, Associate Vice Provost, Institutional Research
Venetta Williams, Administrative Services Officer I, College of Architecture, Construction and Planning
Rene Zenteno, Vice Provost for International Initiatives and Senior International Officer
Myron Anderson, Vice President for Inclusive Excellence (ex officio)