UTSA has evaluation and promotion processes for tenure-track (Assistant Professor and Associate Professor without tenure), tenured (Professor and Associate Professor with tenure), and fixed-term-track faculty (who hold titles in the series Professor of Instruction, Professor of Research, Professor of Practice, Lecturer, and Clinical Professor) that are consistent with UTSA’s dedication to developing and maintaining excellent faculty.

Evaluation is intended to enhance and protect academic freedom while ensuring that faculty members are contributing to their field and meeting their responsibilities to UTSA and the State of Texas.

The information and guidelines for each process are made available here to assist faculty along the way.

Faculty Review Overview

Promotion and Tenure

Applicable to all UTSA tenured and tenure-track faculty, the purpose of promotion at UTSA is to recognize and reward faculty with records of sustained professional accomplishment.

Comprehensive Periodic Evaluation

CPE of tenured faculty is a significant part of the faculty member’s long-term career development.

Third-Year Review

All non-tenured faculty members with tenure track appointments receive a comprehensive review during the spring semester of their third year of full-time service to the university.

Fixed Term-Track Faculty Promotion

UTSA offers a promotion process for FTT faculty with the titles of Professors of Instruction, Professors of Research, Professors of Practice, Lecturers, and Clinical Professors. 

Annual Reviews

All full-time faculty members and continuing part-time faculty members at UTSA must be evaluated annually for the purpose of merit review. Visit HOP 2.11 Annual Faculty Performance Appraisal for Merit Consideration for details.


Emeritus faculty status is an honorary designation by which a faculty member can maintain an official status with the university after separation of employment, and means for continuing scholarly activities post-retirement. The process of emeritus faculty review is undertaken by the university each year.