Spring semester updates & COVID info Roadrunner Roadmap

Contact Us

The Faculty Success team is committed to your success and is here to help. If you're not sure who to contact, email FacultySuccess@utsa.edu and someone will get back to you shortly.

Faculty Success


Heather Shipley

Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean of University College

Email: heather.shipley@utsa.edu

  • Oversees divisions within Academic Success, which includes Career-Engaged Learning, Continuous Improvement and Accreditation, Faculty Success, and Undergraduate Studies.
  • Oversees University College

Laurie Lewis

Associate Vice Provost, Faculty Success

Email: laurie.lewis@utsa.edu

  • Faculty mentoring: plans and guidance
  • Faculty Awards: committees, nomination details, timelines
  • Assists in faculty review processes

Norma Guerra

Associate Vice Provost, Faculty Diversity and Inclusion

Email: norma.guerra@utsa.edu

  • Support the recruitment, appointment, on-boarding and reporting of diverse faculty
  • Implement national best practices at UTSA in standards, approaches, practices and processes related to the recruitment, appointment, development, and recognition of diverse faculty
  • Work with faculty, chairs and departments, college leadership and Academic Affairs colleagues to develop, refine, and/or implement practices and processes to increase the number of outstanding candidates from underrepresented groups

Kirstin Wilsey

Assistant Vice Provost, Academic Administration

Email: kirstin.wilsey@utsa.edu

  • Liaison for Colleges on budgetary matters
  • Faculty Recruitment and Hiring materials and review
  • Faculty Appointments
  • Salary Supplements
  • Faculty Separation
  • IRM Contact for Academic Revenue Units

Judy Verdon

Director of Faculty Training and Professional Development

Email: judith.verdon@utsa.edu

  • Lead training specialist overseeing and performing the design, development, production, and coordination of the programs for faculty and academic leaders

Sarah Soulek

Management Analyst

Email: sarah.soulek@utsa.edu

  • Digital Measures Administrator
  • Questions on Faculty Review process (Annual, 3rd Year Review, T&P, CPE and Emeritus)
  • Faculty workload verification

Cory Thomas

Management Analyst

Email: cory.thomas@utsa.edu

  • Faculty Hiring - T/TT & FTT appointments, administrative appointments, additional pay, and faculty separation

Melinda Utoft

Events and Awards Project Manager

Email: melinda.utoft@utsa.edu

  • Academic Affairs events
  • Faculty awards process
  • Faculty trainings logistics
  • Administrative support for Faculty Senate, the Department Chairs Council, the University Assembly, the university’s standing committees, and the Retired Faculty Association