Latest information on operational modifications for fall 2021 Roadrunner Roadmap

Dean, Carlos Alvarez College of Business

The University of Texas at San Antonio seeks an innovative, entrepreneurial, collaborative leader as its next Dean of the Carlos Alvarez College of Business, Tom C. Frost Distinguished University Chair for Business Excellence and Bodenstedt Chair for the Dean of Business. The campus has developed a bold and ambitious vision for UTSA’s future and its pursuit of excellence as an urban-serving, Hispanic-thriving discovery enterprise ( The Dean will be expected to build on the college’s achievements, while leading the college to higher levels of external engagement, academic excellence and research prominence (

Candidate Forums

All UTSA faculty, staff and students are invited to attend forums featuring finalist candidates for the dean of the Carlos Alvarez College of Business.

During the forums, candidates will give an overview of their qualifications and discuss their vision, followed by a Q&A session. 

All forums will be held in the Center for Professional Excellence Multi-Purpose Room (BB 1.01.20L1) and broadcast via Zoom. Information on the individual candidates will be available online as details are finalized; feedback surveys will be posted immediately following each open forum. UTSA authentication is required to view candidate information and surveys. 

Candidate #1 Forum
Tuesday, Nov. 30, 1:30 p.m.
Zoom link: 

Candidate #2 Forum
Thursday, Dec. 2, 1:30 p.m.
Zoom link:

Candidate #3 Forum
Monday, Dec. 6, 1:30 p.m.
Zoom link:

Candidate #4 Forum
Wednesday, Dec. 8, 1:30 p.m.
Zoom link:

Candidate #5 Forum
Monday, Dec. 13, 1:30 p.m.
Zoom link:

Back-up date:
Candidate Forum
12/16 at 1:30 p.m.

About the College

With over 7,900 students, the college is one of the 40 largest business schools in the nation and offers a comprehensive curriculum at the undergraduate, master’s and doctoral level that expands the boundaries of a traditional business education.

In spring 2021, Carlos and Malú Alvarez committed a $20 million gift  to the college. The gift from the Alvarez family is the first of its kind in the university’s history and will be used to advance research-enhancing activities, including establishing endowed faculty positions, graduate research fellowships and undergraduate research programs.

In recognition of the significance of this gift, The University of Texas System Board of Regents authorized the renaming of the College of Business to the Carlos Alvarez College of Business, making it the first named college at UTSA.

SP&A Executive Search is assisting UTSA in the search. Confidential inquiries or nominations should be directed to:

Alberto Pimentel
Managing Partner
SP&A Executive Search.
6512 Painter Ave.    
Whittier, CA. 90601      
Phone: 562-360-1612
Fax: 562-360-1353
Refer to code "UTSA-DeanACOB" in the subject line


For more information about the University of Texas at San Antonio, please visit

As an equal employment opportunity and affirmative action employer, it is the policy of The University of Texas at San Antonio to promote and ensure equal employment opportunity for all individuals regardless of race, color, religion, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, age, disability or genetic information, and veteran status. The University is committed to the Affirmative Action Program in compliance with all government requirements to ensure nondiscrimination. Women, minorities, people with disabilities and veterans are encouraged to apply. UTSA campuses are accessible to persons with disabilities. 

Search Advisory Committee

Search Advisory Chairs

Lynne Cossman

Dean & Search Advisory Chair
College for Health, Community & Policy

Melissa Vito

Vice Provost and Search Advisory Chair
Academic Innovation

Committee Members

Bernard Arulanandam

Vice President
Research, Economic Development & Knowledge Enterprise

Nicole Beebe

Department Chair & Melvin Lachman Endowed Chair
Information System and Cyber Security

David Beheshti

Assistant Professor 
Department of Economics

Karan Bhanot

Professor and Department Chair
Department of Finance

Rajendra Boppana

Faculty Senate Representative - Department of Computer Science

Christine Burke

Commercialization & Technology Transfer, VPREDKE

Pepe Chang

Associate Professor
Department of Management

Raymond Choo

Professor and Cloud Technology Endowed Professor
Department of Information Systems & Cyber Security

Erica Clark

Associate Director of Innovation & Career Advancement 
The Najim Center for Innovation & Career Advancement

Jonathan Clark

Associate Professor 
Department of Management

Kim Fischer

UTSA Chief Academic Development Officer
University Development

Wendy Frost

Director of Communications
Alvarez College of Business Dean's Office

Perla Garcia

Marketing Major – Alvarez College of Business
Student Government Association Representative

Paul LeBlanc, III

Professor and Department Chair
Department of Communication

Ashwin Malshe

Assistant Professor
Department of Marketing

Dominick Morales

Development Assistant
Staff Senate Representative--University Development

George Perry

Professor & Semmes Foundation Distinguished University Chair
in Neurobiology, Department of Neuroscience, Developmental & Regenerative Biology

Anuradha Roy

Department of Management Science & Statistics

Elaine Sanders

Associate Professor, Graduate Advisor of Record
Department of Accounting

Arturo Schultz

Professor & School Director
Civil and Environmental Engineering and Construction Management

Heather Shipley

Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs 
Dean, University College

Mario Vela

Executive Director
University Career Center


Alberto Pimentel

Managing Partner
SP&A Executive Search

Business Leaders Search Advisory Group

Search Advisory Group Chair

Ann Deacon

Founder, Deacon Recruiting
Chair, ACOB Advisory Council

Search Advisory Group Members

Bobby Blount

San Antonio Department Head
Mitre Corporation

Lorenzo Gomez


Jenna Saucedo-Herrera

President & CEO
Greater: SATX Regional Economic Partnership