College of Sciences Dean Search

The University of Texas at San Antonio seeks an innovative, entrepreneurial, collaborative leader as its next Dean and Distinguished Professor of the College of Sciences. The campus has developed a bold and ambitious vision for UTSA’s future and its pursuit of excellence as an urban-serving, Hispanic-thriving discovery enterprise (https://www.utsa.edu/strategicplan/). The Dean will be expected to build on the college’s achievements, while leading the college to higher levels of external engagement, academic excellence and research prominence.

Listening sessions for dean search

The search advisory committee and executive search firm partners WittKieffer will hold a series of listening session for the college's faculty, staff and students on Monday, May 13, to get input on priorities for the college, as well as the qualities and qualifications the next dean should have to lead the college effectively. They will use this feedback to develop a leadership profile that captures the needs of the College so they can recruit a strong candidate pool. Learn more about the listening session times and locations.

Prior updates:

(Apr. 29, 2024)

UTSA Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Heather Shipley announced a national search for the new dean of the UTSA College of Sciences (COS).

About the College of Sciences

Committed to innovation and excellence in the classroom and laboratory, the College of Sciences (COS) is dedicated to producing the next generation of well-educated, highly trained professionals and leaders. The college is devoted to providing an inclusive environment that ensures that all students receive the encouragement, assistance, and superior educational experience that they will need to succeed in the sciences, health and medicine, information technology, data science, and other ventures. Visit the College of Sciences website to learn more.

Executive search firm WittKieffer is assisting UTSA in the search. Confidential inquiries or nominations should be directed to:



Ryan Crawford
Senior Partner
2015 Spring Road
Suite 510
Oak Brook, IL 60523
Phone: 1-888-281-1370
Email:  UTSA-COSDean@wittkieffer.com


For more information about the University of Texas at San Antonio, please visit  https://www.utsa.edu/about/

As an equal employment opportunity and affirmative action employer, it is the policy of The University of Texas at San Antonio to promote and ensure equal employment opportunity for all individuals regardless of race, color, religion, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, age, disability or genetic information, and veteran status. The University is committed to the Affirmative Action Program in compliance with all government requirements to ensure nondiscrimination. Women, minorities, people with disabilities and veterans are encouraged to apply. UTSA campuses are accessible to persons with disabilities. 

Search Advisory Committee

Lynne Cossman
Dean, College for Health, Community and Policy 
Melissa Vito
Vice Provost, Academic Innovation 
Hector Aguilar
Professor of Instruction, Chemistry, and Associate Dean of Honors College
Taylor Bird
Chief Development Officer, College of Sciences
Erika Tatiana Camacho
Professor, Mathematics
Laura Chavez
Graduate Student, Neuroscience, Developmental and Regenerative Biology
Mike Findeisen
Assistant Dean for Fiscal Administration
Alex Godet
Associate Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences Faculty Senate Representative
Hans Heidner
Professor and Assistant Department Chair, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Brian Hermann
Professor, Neuroscience, Developmental and Regenerative Biology
Chiung-Yu Hung
Associate Professor, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Amelia King Kostelac
Assistant Professor of Practice, Integrative Biology
Audrey Lamb
Professor and Department Chair, Chemistry Department Chairs Council Representative
Anson (Joo) Ong
Director for Research Integrity and Infrastructure and Research Integrity Officer
Arturo Ponce-Pedraza
Professor and Assistant Department Chair, Physics and Astronomy
Zhuolin Qu
Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Rica Ramirez
Assistant Professor, Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching, College of Education and Human Development
Daniel Ramirez-Escobedo
Director, College of Sciences Student Success Center
David Restrepo
Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering, Klesse College of Engineering and Integrated Design
Fidel Santamaria
Professor, Neuroscience, Developmental and Regenerative Biology
Valerie Sponsel
Professor, Integrative Biology
Susan Thomas
Professor of Instruction, Chemistry Faculty Senate Representative
Zach Tonzetich
Associate Professor, Chemistry
Mario Vela
Assistant Vice Provost for Career-Engaged Learning
Alan Whittington
Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences
Tim Yuen
Professor of Computer Science, Interim Department Chair of Integrative Biology, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies
Xuan Zhou
Assistant Professor, Physics and Astronomy
Jaclyn Lerma
Undergraduate Student, Physics and Astronomy